Nevertheless, in July 1922, the British divided Palestine into two administrative districts. Note the black line on the map. Jews would be permitted only west of the black line. To the east, in what became known as "Transjordan", the British installed a Hashemite ruler named Abdullah, who had been expelled from the Arabian peninsula.(1) By making this division, the British reduced the area available for the Jewish National Home to only 22% of the entire area of Palestine.


1. For the creation of Transjordan, seeSachar, op. cit., pp. 402-406

On the map making process (French officers in the 1930s realized their maps mistakenly put Shaba on the Syrian side of the border... for more )




Share           PRINT   
16 Apr 2015 / 27 Nisan 5775 0